Performancing Metrics

Pages

Sunday, November 6, 2011

My Memories of a Future Life by Roz Morris

Title: My Memories of a Future Life

Author: Roz Morris

Pages: 336

Reviewed by Sabrina


If you were somebody’s past life…

What echoes would you leave in their soul?

Could they be the answers you need now?

It’s a question Carol never expected to face. She’s a gifted musician who needs nothing more than her piano and certainly doesn’t believe she’s lived before. But forced by injury to stop playing, she fears her life may be over. Enter her soulmate Andreq: healer, liar, fraud and loyal friend. Is he her future incarnation or a psychological figment? And can his story help her discover how to live now?

A novel in the vein of The Time Traveller’s Wife, Vertigo and The Gargoyle, My Memories of a Future Life is much more than a twist on the traditional reincarnation tale. It is a multi-layered story of souls on conjoined journeys – in real time and across the centuries. It’s a provocative study of the shadows we don’t know are driving our lives, from our own pasts and from the people with us right now. Like Peter Shaffer’s plays The Royal Hunt of the Sun and Equus, it asks questions about what we believe, what we create and how we scare and heal each other.

Above all, it’s the story of how one lost soul searches for where she now belongs.

My Memories of a Future Life was originally published in 4 episodes. This is the complete novel.

Roz Morris is a writer, journalist, fiction editor and the author of Nail Your Novel: Why Writers Abandon Books and How You Can Draft, Fix and Finish With Confidence. She has a secret identity as a ghostwriter and is the author of several bestsellers under other names.



My Thoughts


My Memories of a Future Life is about Carol Lear, a woman who spent practically her whole life so far dedicated to playing the piano. To her, everything falls apart when she's forced to stop playing after the years of stress she's put on her hands. After another check-up at the hospital, she meets Gene Winter, a face that she vaguely remembers from her past . She falls under his spell of hypnosis and begins to see through the eyes of Andreq, her future self in the next life, who teaches her about herself and how to move on from a world outside her piano. Is Andreq real-or is he a trick? Who is Gene Winter under all the secrets and deception?

I could really feel Carol's sadness and pain-especially her wish for her life to go back the way it was. Carol is easily a likable and, for most, relateable character. Carol's obsession with Andreq may have scared me a litt-okay, a lot.The story does get darker (and maybe a bit confusing) as it goes on.

My Memories of a Future Life is well-written story, with certainly interesting characters and themes, that hooked me into the end. When I was finished, it definitely gave me something to think about.

2 comments:

  1. Thrilled you liked it, Sabrina - thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  2. That is really attention-grabbing, You're a very skilled blogger. I've joined your rss feed
    and look forward to in the hunt for extra of your fantastic
    post. Also, I've shared your site in my social networks

    my web site; cash advance jacksonville
    My web site > cash advance usa scam

    ReplyDelete

Each comment means a lot to us! We'll try to get back to you here or, if you have one, on your blog!